Petulant Acquiescence – The Opiate Wars – Poughkeepsie till we die

Poughkeepsie, New York

Poughkeepsie, New York

What is going on in Upstate New York?

I know 3 people that overdosed in 2012 and I almost feel lucky that the number is so low. Heroin, Morphine, Oxy’s… pick your poison. If you want to wake up dead, this is a good route to head down.

There are plenty of reasons people dabble in that realm. Maybe it started off with an injury and a prescription and now you are hooked but don’t want to admit that you have a physical addiction. Maybe the black market for pills is so pricey that heroin becomes an obvious cheap alternative. Perhaps you had friends that did heroin and you just wanted to try it, thought it might be a good time and you’d forget about the trials and tribulations of life for a little while. Whatever the case may be, I doubt there was ever an instance of a person exclaiming “I want a drug problem and don’t mind risking death”. Seems like that result is just the camouflaged painful side effect.

h

Teenagers, 20 somethings, 30 & 40 somethings… there is no discrimination to speak of. The twisting and turning, the desperation and desire, the blissful honesty of the lies meant to deceive loved ones into supporting addiction. The boundless steps you’ll take to avoid getting sick seems the only ambition you have. Some people might blame you, but then we would have to blame everyone for all of their mistakes and that isn’t fair. If a person is powerless, we can’t expect them to have power…especially over addiction. Another obvious harsh reality is that you can’t save someone’s life. You can preach till you are blue in the face, you can intervene till you are appeased. Nothing will stop a person but their sheer determination.

So it is not a blame game. Can’t blame the person if you assume they would love to quit but just can’t, and you can’t blame bystanders for not being able to stop a person from doing what they can’t help but do. Do we stand by and hope? Do we pray and wish? I know of families that have already acquiesced to the fact that their loved one will succumb to their addiction. Is that wrong of them or is it what they have to do to protect themselves from the misery of the impending death of someone they know?

drug-deaths

I can’t call it. I don’t know how to fix it. The only thing I know how to do is not get tangled up in it. I have very close friends embroiled in this opiate war, close friends that I’d hate to bury. Do I think it will happen? I am an optimist, I don’t think the results will be the ultimate doom. But I am also a realist, I know it can happen. If I get the news, I won’t be surprised… just sad. I don’t recall it ever being this way. When I was growing up in Dutchess County, the cruelty of life seemed much more innocent. We were up against a lot, but most of it was what we stacked in front of ourselves. Today the dangers out in suburbia seem much more apparent and lethal. I would not want to try my luck in this battlefield. I had a rough enough time getting to where I am now, any tougher a time may have proved crippling.

Criticize me here.

