Police Kill Man In East Fishkill, NY: Dutchess County

dutchess

This is going to teeter between pissing you off and calming you down.


It’s being reported that there was a long stand-off and that John J. Terzani was in the midst of a tumultuous divorce when police failed to subdue him, resulting in a fatal shooting. I wouldn’t have used the term “failed”, it casts a negative light on our very effective State Police force. Also, I am saying “tumultuous”. The Poughkeepsie Journal is saying “amicable”.

Poughkeepsie Journal

This happened near Carpenter Hill Road in East Fishkill. A road that I grew up driving down and still pass by now and again. There is no mention of a hostage situation. That leads me to believe that there was no “hostage situation” because that is a trigger term that spurs mass interest, and it would have been readily sported for media attention. So here is my issue. Several shots were fired from a .223-caliber rifle. 5, if you believe what witnesses heard. That could look like this:

m7615

or this:

90280_XM-15_HBBL

Or several other guns.

After he was shot, they tried to save his life. Are the officers trained to shoot these weapons not capable of disabling a man with precise, painful, cripplingly accurate shots to the shoulder, arm, or leg? No disrespect to the New York State Police. I know officers in the East Fishkill and State Police forces, they have a job to do and one dangerous man’s life is less important than the safety of an entire community. I don’t mean for this to be controversial, but this isn’t the first time I have thought to myself that the perpetrator could have been severely wounded and immobilized as opposed to being killed. I would be more of a shoot him in the leg, then tell him to put the gun down sort of person… which is part of what is wrong with me.  I wasn’t there, I don’t know what happened. Right now there is a man that has to live with the fact that he killed someone that has a family, parents, loved ones, friends, co-workers, and acquaintances. Why? He was obligated to. People are killed every day in a hail of bullets. How many of those instances would have been remedied by one disabling, non-lethal gun shot? I have no clue. I’d like to say all of them, but that would be impossible. I suppose I don’t really have a point here. Another tragedy and it wasn’t senseless. It’s simply very confusing. The intensity of perilous moments is deafening. Real life does not often mirror a Hollywood cop drama, but sometimes you wish it could. Is there another level of training that would include the ability to disable a person without killing them? Is it affordable and realistic? I do not know.

Another good job by the police in NY, they should be commended. Unfortunately, that doesn’t prevent August 20, 2013 from being a sad day.

30 Seconds To Mars: The Kill

2 Comments

  1. Its a shame that they could not use other means to stop this young man and they had to kill him, The police Dept. need to be train in stopping a person instead of killing them. He was my daughters co-worker and she is distraught. A VERY SAD DAY INDEED.

Criticize me here.

